SAGA24. September 0215

earMUSIC releases an excellent SAGA reissue series within one year, covering all studio albums from 1989 – 2007. All twelve albums are enhanced by exclusive bonus tracks, newly recorded at Fabrik, Hamburg in April 2015 – Of course they’ve been never released before.
The beautifully designed booklets, including original fan material, press articles, and more, are a must have for every fan. Furthermore, the founding band members of SAGA have their say on each album. The individual introductions grant quite personal insights to their work back in the days. 

Originally realeased in 1994
Preceding album: The Security Of Illusion (1993)

"Steel Umbrellas" is one of the second round of earMUSIC’s SAGA Reissue Series and is best known for featuring a more popish side of SAGA. The album was originally composed as a soundtrack for a TV series called ´Cobra`. Mixed by Mike Ging (Michael Jackson, Toto, Nazareth) in L.A., Steel Umbrellas takes you straight back to a more popish 80’s sound. While the opener “Why Not” is a great rock tune in all SAGA’s tradition, some very nice flowing ballads such as “I Walk With You” or “Say Goodbye To Hollywood” are featured here; “Steamroller” comes along with quite a funky attitude and “Shake That Tree” got a real groove on. Overall, Steel Umbrellas definitely features a softer SAGA than its preceders but doesn’t neglect the signature SAGA sound.

For this re-release, the album was completely remastered (2015). The tracklist is completed by two additional bonus tracks (never released before), newly recorded during their European Touring 2015 at Fabrik, Hamburg. 

Line Up
Michael Sadler - vocals
Ian Crichton - guitar
Jim Gilmour - keyboards
Jim Crichton - bass
Steve Negus - drums, percussion
Paula Mattioli, Fred White, Stu “The Rooster” Saddoris – backing vocals

1. Why Not // 2. (You Were) Never Alone // 3. Bet On This // 4. Shake That Tree // 5. Password Pirate - Access Code - Password Pirate // 6. I Walk With You // 7. Push It // 8. Steamroller // 9. Say Goodbye To Hollywood // 10. Feed The Fire // 11. I Walk With You (Live)

Bonus Tracks
12. On My Way, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album ‘Sagacity’, 2014)
13. On The Loose, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album “Worlds Apart”, 1981)